“The Gunslinger” 2014, oil on canvas, 24″ x 30″

DSCF2432

DSCF2433

DSCF2434

Someone told me that a gunslinger was all about deception. Rather than an artist’s statement, while you take a look at my painting consider a quote from the gunslinger, Ben Thompson: “I always make it a rule to let the other fellow fire first. If a man wants to fight, I argue the question with him and try to show him how foolish it would be. If he can’t be dissuaded, why then the fun begins but I always let him have first crack. Then when I fire, you see, I have the verdict of self-defense on my side. I know that he is pretty certain in his hurry, to miss. I never do.

2 thoughts on ““The Gunslinger” 2014, oil on canvas, 24″ x 30″

    • I’d like to take credit, but it was a “touch” added by the actor/model. I snapped a photo of this Gunslinger outside of the Bucket of Blood Saloon. My attention was drawn to this detail as well…gunslinging is based on deception!

      Like

Leave a Reply

