and there we have it, Colorado River Take Two

I actually took a photograph of this place last year because of the way the sun, nearing sunset, reflected from the rocky hill above the river…and as the painting developed the greenery appeared to me to be highly compartmentalized.  I could have changed that, but, I like the exaggeration.  While my focus was recreating what the sunlight was doing, it appears that I painted what I was feeling….how the green of nature is allotted its space between the rubble and man’s creation.  The reflection seems to say it again, while the waters of the Colorado drift by under that big expanse of blue sky.

Colorado River, Take Two. 2015, oil on canvas, 30" x 40"

Colorado River, Take Two. 2015, oil on canvas, 30″ x 40″

3 thoughts on “and there we have it, Colorado River Take Two

Leave a Reply

