I used to experiment with fibers….

sculpted fiber (cotton linters, procion dyes) circa 1990

sculpted fiber (cotton linters, procion dyes) circa 1990

DSCF4386 DSCF4389

I can’t believe its been 25 years since I played with cotton linters…I managed to stretch this phase of my artistic career to span about three years. I was accepted into a few, well, I could say several juried exhibitions. Then there was kind of a misunderstanding of my work, which is not painted on hand-laid paper, the colors were created in separate batches of linters and I manipulated the wet fibers into an image before sponging out the water….it was a process I considered fine art, but at the time the rest of the world considered it a “craft.” huh.

Leave a Reply

